A Journey into Advanced Squad Leader: Part 2.5

Beyond Valor, the first module for ASL, has 14 or so sheets of punch-out counters. Each sheet is comprised of 1/2″ to 3/4″ little pieces. Doing some number crunching (approximately 8″x10″ sheet size accounting for in-between spaces between punch-outs and averaging 1/2″ and 3/4″ counters) there’s around 2,500+ counters in the box. There are not storage options that come with Beyond Valor. I purchased two dozen counter trays for storage. 13 of them were used to store the pieces. On and off sorting of these pieces takes hours and hours, but after all that time I was finally finished.

Image

The point of this anecdote is that Advanced Squad Leader requires a lot of effort to get into, both in terms of learning the game and managing all of its components. This is perhaps why my journey to play this grand game has not been logged in a while. That being said, I’ve finally regained my motivation to learn ASL. I’ve been reading the manual, and I am approximately halfway through the first section of the rules–those for the basic game (i.e. no large guns or tanks).

Better than trying to learn the game from the text, for most of the purpose of the manual is to be a reference rather than a tutorial, I will be taught the game by an experienced player tomorrow. I am really looking forward to playing this game, for even its Starter Kit version shows real promise of a truly in-depth experience. This depth is why I invested time, effort, and money for Advanced Squad Leader. I hunger for a game of this caliber, and hopefully I shall be rewarded for my investment.

Wish me luck, I may need it.

This entry was posted in Board Games, Journey into Advanced Squad Leader. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Journey into Advanced Squad Leader: Part 2.5

  1. Jackson Kwan says:

    Good luck mate!!! Do let me know if you happen be interested in VASL PBeM anytime going forward ~

Leave a Reply

